Divergent; Insurgent; Allegiant – Veronica Roth

I realise my last review on here was entirely on Divergent, but in the last week or so I have completed the trilogy.

What I came to notice, quite strongly in the second book, is that the author had probably embarked on this project without fully knowing how to portray her central character. Tris has a great beginning in Divergent, finding her feet and negotiating obstacles, but in Insurgent the lasting impression I have is that Tris cried. A lot.

I also felt that Roth borrowed a style from Stephanie Meyer in the final book, which put me off initially, until I realised she did it better. Allegiant is separated between two narratives, Tris and Four, and though at first jarring with the previous installments style, I got used to hearing Four’s thoughts and enjoyed getting to see his perspective.

This trilogy was definitely weak, weaker compared to The Hunger Games. Except, like the Games, it ended powerfully and with more strength of character from the author than I expected.

I also sort of hated the ending because of it. But I know it couldn’t have ended any other way.

I am glad I have read them, because it will be interesting to see how the movies play out. But I think that they will make much better films than they do books. So I’m leaving this trilogy a little disappointed, though hopeful for what is to come on screen.

This entry was posted in book, book review, literature, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

